Word of the week: surveillance

Standard

As we were driving to town this morning, something was mentioned about being a fly on the wall, and so I explained to the kids what this saying meant. I know that I would personally love to be a fly on the wall at daycare, to see how the youngest interacts without me around – who she plays with, how much she talks, how well she behaves and so on.

And then I thought, this concept would make a pretty cool writing prompt. So although the word of the week is ‘surveillance’, you can also use the saying itself: “Don’t you wish that you could be a fly on the wall?” (And I totally just wrote that with the tune of Miley’s song in my head. And guess what I’ll be singing for the rest of the day…)

*****

“Don’t you wish that you could be a fly on the wall?”

“What are you talking about?”

“In the office, when you’re not there.”

“Never really thought about it. I guess it would be interesting. Find out what they talk about.”

“Well, you can, you know.”

“What?”

“Find out.”

“And how would I do that?”

“I put a camera in there.”

I stare at Jim. “Are you kidding?”

“Nope. Bastards are trying to get me fired I reckon. Jumped on eBay last week and bought a tiny spy cam. The wonders of technology, mate! You’ll never find it, it’s so small it can hardly be spotted.”

My mind is reeling. I attempt to laugh, but I’m fairly certain I sound like a strangled cat; Jim thumps me on my back, “Cough it up, mate. Get it out!”

“So Jim,” I clear my throat, “How long did you say you’ve had it in there?”

“Last Wednesday,” he guffaws loudly, “I’ll catch ‘em out. Leave it till tomorrow and take it home to check it out over the weekend.”

I breathe out slightly. Right then. Jim’s out for the rest of the afternoon, I have time to find it. I will find it and I will crush it.

“You all good Rod? Still look like you’re ready to choke.”

“Yeah fine. This flu’s still messing with me, coughing up phlegm. Wish it would go away. Anyway, I’m off. Hate to give them a reason to try and fire me too!” I laugh properly this time.

I walk quickly out of the café and stride towards the doors of the high-rise building that our insurance company works out of.

The last thing Jim needs to find this weekend on his bloody spy cam is Julie and I. First time we’ve ever done it at the office and now it’s going to come back and bite me on the arse. Should have left our shenanigans for her house. It’s just a pity Jim and his sister are sitting on such a huge inheritance, or I would have divorced her ugly face years ago.

I march through the office and then realise I need to search for it surreptitiously. What am I going to do if I don’t find it?

*****

So… #justwrite!

Chuck your exercise in the comments. Comment on mine. And have fun!

3 thoughts on “Word of the week: surveillance

Leave a Reply

