NaNoWriMo 2016 is upon us!

Standard

nanawrimo - nano - nano2016

Yesterday morning the month of November dawned upon us bright and sunny. Well, bright and sunny where I am anyway. And I daresay for the rest of November, many writers around the world will possibly either see dawn arrive because they’ve already been up for hours or they haven’t gone to bed yet.

Such is the craziness that is National Novel Writing Month (AKA NaNoWriMo, or in its even shorter version, AKA NaNo), whereby we strange creatures who write, try to pump out 50,000 words in thirty days. Easy, huh? Pfft. 1667 words every day for 30 days.

So, because November wasn’t already cray-cray enough (and by the way, I detest this term, but it kinda suits the situation) with everything dance-related (normal lessons plus a photo day, presentation night, full rehearsal days, full dress rehearsal days, and then the two days of concert) and school swimming lessons and school writer’s club and tennis lessons and setting my new business up … I’m sure you get my drift. Life in general. This loopy mum registered for NaNo.

But you know what? I can guarantee you, that most others out there doing NaNo are in exactly the same boat as me. Because we all have lives and people in them.

Now, it’s not life or death. Whether you ‘win’ or not means nothing other than a cool badge to say that you did in fact win. What I like the idea of though, is that maybe by the end of November, I’ll have a finished manuscript, or at least a lot-closer-to-being-finished manuscript, because I already have the first half of it written. Which is exciting in itself.

So wish me luck. I’m up 950 words for yesterday, so no, not quite the 1667, but it’s still 950 words closer to a finished story than when I woke up yesterday on the  bright and sunny morning.

Today is a new day. Maybe I’ll hit the target, maybe not. It’s a different morning – humid and overcast – so we’ll see.

PS If you are also delving into the insane world of NaNo, add me as a buddy – you’ll find me @geesuzie – we can go stark raving mad together! 

Happy writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

